Welcome Pamela King Cable

Join me in welcoming Pamela King Cable to Highlighted Author.

 

Sometimes, with the submission process and wait we have here at Highlighted Author, it’s difficult to schedule features to coincide with the excitement that surrounds a new release.  We miss the opportunity to be part of a Blast or Tour that announces a fantastic book to the world. But, hosting Highlighted Author has given me the opportunity to meet some truly amazing people.

Well, this week I get to share with you both. I’m delighted to have Pamela King Cable here as part of the Televenge Blog Tour. Her tour stops are listed below the feature, so be sure to check them out and support her along the way.

Welcome, Pamela. Please tell us a little about yourself.

I was born a coal miner’s granddaughter, raised by a tribe of wild Pentecostals and storytellers, and lived to write about it. Religion and spirituality with mystical twists unearthed from my family’s history is who I am as a writer. It is my passion. I studied creative writing at The University of Akron and Kent State University but my best education came from mentors and writers in the trenches. When I’m not writing, I speak to book clubs, women’s groups, national and local civic organizations, and at writing conferences and churches across the country. More than a decade in the writing, Televenge is my debut novel. Living on a farm in Ohio with my husband, Michael, I can be found in my pajamas under a mountain of research, hard at work on the next book.

 

How long have you been writing?

The inspiration to write on a full-time basis didn’t begin in the 6th grade when I wrote that first story, or during my turbulent years as a young adult writing in my journal and pounding out short stories on an old IBM typewriter. It began one day in 2002, when the man I was about to marry looked up from a manuscript I’d written and said, “This is a great story. Let’s find a way for you to do this full-time.”

 

What inspired your latest book?

Inspired by my spirituality and my own story, I wrote Televenge after surviving life’s heartaches and hardships. My mother says I cut my teeth on the back of a church pew. I grew up first as a Baptist and then as a Pentecostal—a fundamentalist, attending revivals in tents, tabernacles, and clapboard churches. Eventually, I became an evangelical, joining a church where I experienced a world that encompassed both the sublime and the bizarre. For twenty-five years, I was a member of a megachurch operated by a TV evangelist. As part of its inner circle, I was married to a ministry team member who traveled with this televangelist, holding mammoth faith-healing crusades all over the world. Under much distress, I left the church losing everything in the wake of my rebellion, including my husband in a bitter divorce.

I began to study televangelism markets more closely and the devastating effects of some megachurches, interviewing more than a hundred people who broke away for many of the same reasons that I did. Some I knew personally, some I didn’t, but a similar thread ran through our lives. We got sick of gulping the dogma, and when we broke free we suffered unbearable losses. We were in a tug of war with the pastor for our loved one who felt if they left the church, they were bound for Hell. Many families were split apart because we had become “an apostate.” Those who left also endured horrific personal trauma and ruin, feeling void of hope, of help, and of God. And of course my own experience, living in the world of an evangelical cult and breaking out of it, gave me plenty to write about.

 

What do you hope readers will learn from/enjoy about your book?

The truth behind the high-stake events in Televenge. It underscores the extremes to which some spiritual leaders will go for money, power, and fame, and the horrors many suffer to be free of religious legalism. Nothing before Televenge has told a tale about evangelicals like this one. Televenge is a powerful story of faith and unconditional love, as well as a vivid portrayal of heartbreaking loss and incredible courage, transporting you into my world of the sublime and the bizarre.

 

What they’re saying:

Televenge is “ … an emotional rollercoaster that ends as intensely as it begins . . . those who commit to Cable’s tome will find themselves captivated and deeply devoted to Andie. Fans of Fannie Flagg and Janet Evanovich will be hooked on this saga of religion, romance, and crime.”—Library Journal Editor’s Pick BookExpo America 2012 Shannon Marie Robinson, Library Journal

“Cable’s unflinching fictional exposé of the dark side of televangelism has a human victim in the person of Andie Oliver. … Cable, a former member of a megachurch, places Andie’s desperate struggle against the oppression of (Reverend) Artury’s church, its brutal inner circle, murderous practices, financial fraud, and (husband) Joe’s abuse. This powerful story, skillfully written and with well-drawn characters, reveals the classic entrapment of vulnerable people in the name of a vengeful god …”—Publishers Weekly

“A captivating, beautifully rendered, unforgettable look at a world so few of us understand. Ms. Cable has courageously opened the door…and my eyes.”—Lesley Kagen, NEW YORK TIMES Bestselling Author of Good Graces

“Pamela King Cable’s debut novel breathes good and evil, frost and fire. You can finish it, but it won’t let you go.”—Jacquelyn Mitchard, NEW YORK TIMES Bestselling Author of The Deep End of theOcean

 

Televenge

Book trailer

Interview with Vipp Jaswal, Fox Radio News in New York City.

click icon to listen 

(http://radio.foxnews.com/2012/11/07/is-there-a-darkside-to-mega-churches/)

 

Televenge

Blurb

Click Cover To Purchase . . .

 

Andie Oliver is a faithful woman—to God, to husband Joe, and to televangelist Calvin Artury, a Godfather in a Mafia of holy men. Joe works limitless hours on the megachurch ministry team, falling deeper into debauchery, while Andie attempts to free him from the Reverend’s control and far-reaching influence. Uncovering long-hidden truths—even murder—she loses everything, including her children. Andie fights for redemption for her family and herself, confronting the very definition of sin, and shaking the Christian evangelical world to its core. Evading ruthless adversaries who will go to any lengths to protect Reverend Artury, Andie battles the dark side of televangelism.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Would you share an excerpt with us?

 

Click for full excerpt

You can also hear her read the first scene of Televenge here:

Click icon to listen

(http://www.southernwritersonline.com/take-five.html)

 

 

Where can we buy your book?

Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Televenge-Pamela-King-Cable/dp/1935874160/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1342456881&sr=8-1&keywords=Televenge

Barnes and Noble

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/televenge-pamela-king-cable/1109942965

Satya House

http://www.satyahouse.com/televenge.htm

Any place that sells good books can order Televenge for you if it’s not on the shelf.

 

What’s coming up next?

After publishing Televenge in October 2012, the book I’ve just completed is called:

The Sanctum.

Neeley McPherson accidentally killed her parents on her fifth birthday. Thrown into the care of her scheming and alcoholic grandfather, she is raised by his elderly farmhand, Gideon, a black man, whom she grows to love. Neeley turns thirteen during the winter of 1959, and when Gideon is accused of stealing a watch and using a Whites Only restroom, she determines to break him out of jail.

The infamous Catfish Cole, Ku Klux Klan Grand Dragon of the Carolinas, pursues Neeley and Gideon in their courageous escape to the frozen Blue Ridge Mountains. After Gideon’s truck hits ice and careens down a steep slope, they travel on foot through a blizzard, and arrive at a farm of sorts—a wolf sanctuary where Neeley crosses the bridge between the real and the supernatural. It is here she discovers her grandfather’s deception, confronts the Klan, and uncovers the shocking secrets of the Cherokee family who befriends her. Giving sanctuary, the healing power of second chances, and overcoming prejudice entwine, leading Neeley to tragedy once again but also granting her the desire of her heart.

The Sanctum  is a coming-of-age Southern tale dusted with a bit of magic, and set in a volatile time in America when the winds of change begin to blow.

 

Thank you for being with us this week, Pamela. Best of luck to you and Televenge.

 

What more Pamela? Here’s where you can connect with her:

Web site: http://www.pamelakingcable.com

Blog: www.southernfriedwoman.blogspot.com

Facebook Book page: https://www.facebook.com/southernfriedwomen

Twitter: @pamelakingcable

GoodReads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2935883.Pamela_King_Cable

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Pamela-King-Cable/e/B001K8VUMS/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1343339600&sr=1-1

 

Below is a list of this month’s stops for the Televenge Blog Tour. You can find the entire list on her website at http://www.pamelakingcable.com/events.html.

 

BLOG TOUR
1/4/2013
Broken Teepee
1/7/2013
Fiction Addict
1/9/2013
I am a reader, not a writer
Guest Post
1/15/2013
The Written World
1/21/2013
Highlighted Author
1/22/2013
Sara’s Organized Chaos
1/24/2013
Literally Jen
1/28/2013
Reviews by Molly
1/30/2013
West Metro Mommy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Welcome Pamela King Cable”

Comments are closed.